Feeling unmotivated? Go outside, lazy!

Well yesterday was my first day off of work in… eight days. That’s right- I worked 8 days (2 parties, one UFC fight, and a ladies night), all with no day off. In the restaurant world… that blows. At the end of Sunday’s shift, I quite literally wanted to cry. Even more so, when while closing the store at Midnight, the last guest asked me “why do you close up so fast? We’re all having fun here- no need to be a bitch”. Ugh. 

So needless to say, I spent ALL DAY Monday on the couch, reading a book. I didn’t do a damn thing. I ate some bagel bites, took a bubble bath, bought a facial, and took some time for me (for once).

…And then I felt guilty. I had not only eaten terribly, I had wasted an entire beautiful day inside, just because I felt burnt out. So this evening (once it cooled down- I’m not crazy), I went for a short run around downtown Baton Rouge. I’m still doing the whole C25K app on my Iphone thing, so today was 5 min warm up, run for 8 minutes, walk for 5, run for 8, and cool down for 5. By that point, I was about 2.6 miles from home, so I walked the rest of the way back, and just…breathed. And it was wonderful. I feel so much less stressed, calm, and ready for my 7am-5pm shift tomorrow. 

Moral of the story? Even when I’m feeling burnt out, and tired, and ready to quit… I HAVE to just get out there. Once I’m outside, I’ll never regret it. And no matter how slow I go- I’m still lapping everyone on the couch. 

Photo highlights from today’s run: 

Image
Mississippi River, looking south

 

Image
Sunset

 

Image
Looking North, at Exxon

 

Image
The Old Arsenal
Image
The Old State Capitol
Image
Downtown BR Square

Leave a Reply

