Get Your Rear in Gear 5k, April 27th 2013

Hey guys!

Yesterday was my first ever, actually run- not walk- 5k! While I did not do as well as I had hoped, this is just a starting point, and I am SO EXCITED to see the progress I make from here to the Disney Princess Half in 2014. I finished 83rd out of the women, and Andrew finished 76th out of the men; with over 800 people running, I’m pretty proud of that achievement. The one thing I was hoping for though, was to finish in less than 30 minutes. Well, I was close, but I finished in 31m 57s. ALMOST THERE! So now, I know that if I hadn’t actually stopped to drink that water, and would have run just a little bit harder, I could have met my goal. So, new goal? Sub 30 minutes on the next one (which should be in about a month), and beating Andrew’s 27 minutes would be AMAZING.

I did learn some valuable lessons though! Don’t try to close at work the night before an early (timed) run like this. 3 hours of sleep did NOT help my confidence or motivation. My wonderful Nike shorts, not the best to try to PR in. My new socks? Meh. Shoes are fine, although I’d like to try the Nike Free’s. Biggest lesson of all? Don’t immediately stop after the finish line for a minute or two, and then try to walk somewhere. Um, ow!

Photo recap of my first ever 5k! (Pics or it didn’t happen, right?)

Image
Me and my main man at our first run together!
Image
Looking back from the start line. EEK- more people than I expected!
Image
My first finish line!
Leave a Reply

